

MEETING MINUTES Trustee Candidate Advisory Council March 22, 2002 Room 400 North State Office Building

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>: Ben Vander Kooi, Jr., chair Joe Aitken

Muriel Abram Kris Amundson Greg Anderson Jerry Christianson

James BernsteinSusan HanknerCy CarpenterBuck HumphreyJudy ChristiansonLarry Zavadil

Yvonne Condell Rep. George Cassell Kent Eklund Rep. Tony Kielkucki

Joe Graba Jody Olson Earl Rasmussen Ruth Stanoch Don Sudor Billie Young

Ben Vander Kooi, chair, called the meeting to order at 10:50 a.m. A quorum was present.

Cy Carpenter moved approval of the minutes from the meeting on January 11, 2001. Motion seconded and approved.

Mr. Vander Kooi reviewed the procedures for selection of finalists. He noted that the board needs representation of both men and women, and minorities. He also noted that the Board has only one woman and that one incumbent has applied.

The council agreed to target twenty of the applicants to be interviewed and at least eight, but not more than sixteen would be recommended to the Governor. Mr. Vander Kooi verified interviews had been scheduled for April 2-4, 2002.

Jim Bernstein moved to discuss candidates and try to reach consensus on some, and vote on those who are not consensus selections. Motion approved.

After discussion and voting, the council selected the following 20 people to be interviewed: Fred Adiyia, Dick Anfang, Bruce Bomier, Robert Brown, Cheryl Dickson, Neil Eckles, Robert Erickson, Clarence Hightower, Leigh Johnson, Delores Knaak, Andrew Lucero, James O=Connor, David Paskach, Eleanor Schultz, Duane Scribner, Rudy Sameja, Judy Titcomb, and Craig Wruck.

Members of the council agreed to make congratulatory calls to those candidates selected and instructed staff to set up the interview times.

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:15 p.m.	
Ben Vander Kooi, Chair	