#### TRUSTEE CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL

# MEETING MINUTES Monday – Wednesday, March 29 - 31, 2004 400 South, State Office Building

### **Present:**

Ben Vander Kooi, Jr., Chair Greg Anderson (Wed.) Nancy Black George Cassell Judith Christianson Yvonne Condell Kent Eklund Brenda Elmer

Susan Hankner Connie Morrison Jody Olson Ruth Orrick Earl Rasmussen

David Sturrock (Tues. and Wed.)

Donald Sudor

Billie Young, Vice Chair

Chris Wachtler

## **Absent:**

Muriel Abram Joe Aitken Jerry Christenson Hubert Humphrey IV Tony Kielkucki Larry Zavadil

## Monday, March 29th

The Trustee Candidate Advisory (TCAC) was called to order by Ben Vander Kooi, TCAC Chair, at 8:20 a.m. in Room 400 South of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

#### **Announcements**

Mr. Vander Kooi announced that Jerry Christenson would be unable to attend the meeting due to his treatments at the Mayo Clinic for a brain tumor. Mr. Christenson is doing well and will keep the council updated. Kent Eklund will be absent from the March 29<sup>th</sup> morning interviews. Larry Zavadil may be absent all three days as he is seeking medical treatment and is doing well.

Mr. Vander Kooi listed interviewees for the day and which congressional districts they were from. He then reviewed the interview process. Volunteers would be asked to greet and introduce each candidate. The candidate would be allowed up to five minutes for an opening statement, the council would then ask questions, and end with the candidate's two-minute statement.

Yvonne Condell moved approval of the minutes from the March 5, 2004, meeting. Seconded. **MOTION APPROVED.** 

Interviews started at 8:30 a.m.

Monday, March 29th

Roy Wallace
Tom Forsythe
John Annexstad
Jim Morris
Lois Mack
Bob Erickson
Bill Moore
Thomas Jensen

Tuesday, March 30<sup>th</sup>
Mary Connor
Jo Nelson
Mark Piepho
Tom Renier
Jim Luoma
Maureen Steinwall
Tom Heaney
Rolf Middleton

Wednesday, March 31<sup>st</sup> Mike Howe Andrew Lucero Gary Evans John Longtin

Following interviews, at 12:15 p.m. Mr. Vander Kooi and Chad Thuet reviewed the voting procedures. Mr. Vander Kooi then reviewed the current membership of the Board of Trustees.

George Cassell moved to close discussion and begin voting. Seconded. MOTION APPROVED.

The following names would be recommended to Governor Pawlenty:

Bob Erickson (At-Large)	Thomas Jensen (2 <sup>nd</sup> Cong. District)	Jim Morris (2 <sup>nd</sup> Cong. District)
Gary Evans (At-Large)	Andrew Lucero (8 <sup>th</sup> Cong. District)	Tom Renier (At-Large)
Tom Forsythe (At-Large)	Jim Luoma (8 <sup>th</sup> Cong. District)	Maureen Steinwall (At-Large)
Mike Howe (At-Large)		

Mr. Vander Kooi took volunteers to call all 20 of the interviewees with the voting results.

Mr. Eklund moved to adjourn. Seconded. MOTION PASSED.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 1:45 p.m. on March 31st.

Ben Vand	er Kooi, Jr., (	 Chair	 -