Trustee Candidate Advisory Council April 2-4, 2002 400N State Office Building

Present: Ben Vander Kooi, Jr., Chair Murial Abram Joe Aitken (Apr. 3-4) Kris Amundson Jim Bernstein Judy Christianson Yvonne Condell Kent Eklund Joe Graba Buck Humphrey Jody Olson Earl Rasmussen Don Sudor Billie Young Larry Zavadil

<u>Absent:</u> Greg Anderson Cy Carpenter Rep George Cassell Jerry Christenson Sue Hankner Rep Tony Kielkucki Ruth Orrick

<u>Tuesday, April 2nd</u>: Ben Vander Kooi, Jr., chair, called the meeting to order at 8:20 a.m.

Joe Graba moved approval of the minutes from the March 22, 2002 meeting. **MOTION APPROVED**.

Murial Abram moved that the council not accept candidate #38's application because the application was submitted after the deadline. **MOTION APPROVED**.

Mr. Vander Kooi reviewed the format of the interviews: five minutes for the candidate's opening statement, time for open questions from the council, and two minutes for the candidate's closing statement.

Mr. Graba moved to adjourn the business meeting and begin interviews. **MOTION APPROVED**.

Scheduled interviews:

James O'Connor Cheryl Dickson Rudy Semeja Eleanor Schultz (via telephone) Ann Shaw (tape) Craig Wruck Judy Titcomb Bob Erickson

Wednesday, April 3rd: Duane Scribner Robert Brown Neil Eckles Dee Knaak Dick Slade Bruce Bomier Leigh Johnson

<u>Thursday, April 4th:</u> Dick Anfang Andrew Lucero Clarence Hightower David Paskach Fred Adiyia

Following interviews, Mr. Vander Kooi called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. The council reviewed the voting procedures.

Don Sudor moved to vote immediately. MOTION APPROVED

The results of the first ballot were as follows:

First Ballot, At-Large:			
Adiyia	7	Anfang	11
Bomier	9	Brown	13
Dickson	12	Eckles	7
Erickson	10	Hightower	14
Johnson	3	Knaak	4
Lucero	11	O'Connor	0
Paskach	11	Schultz	3
Scribner	1	Semeja	5
Shaw	10	Slade	8
Titcomb	13	Wruck	10

There was no election on the first ballot. Pursuant to the voting procedures, Mr. O'Connor and Mr. Scribner were eliminated from further consideration.

Yvonne Condell moved that on the second ballot, all candidates receiving 12 or more votes are recommended to the governor. **MOTION APPROVED**

Ms. Condell moved to vote immediately without discussion. MOTION APPROVED

The results of the second ballot were as follows:			
Second Ballot At-Large			

Second Da	not, At-Large:		
Adiyia	6	Anfang	11
Bomier	8	Brown	14
Dickson	12	Eckles	3
Erickson	11	Hightower	14
Johnson	2	Knaak	3
Lucero	12	Paskach	11
Schultz	1	Semeja	3
Shaw	9	Slade	4
Titcomb	14	Wruck	10

Pursuant to the Condell motion, Brown, Dickson, Hightower, Lucero, and Titcomb were selected, having received 12 or more votes each. Ms. Schultz was eliminated from further consideration.

Mr. Graba moved to recommend all candidates receiving at least 12 votes on the third ballot. **MOTION APPROVED**

Ms. Condell moved to vote immediately without discussion. MOTION APPROVED

The results of the third ballot were as follows:

Adiyia	7	Anfang	10
Bomier	9	Eckles	2
Erickson	12	Johnson	2
Knaak	2	Paskach	13
Semeja	3	Shaw	10
Slade	4	Wruck	10

Pursuant to the Graba motion, Erickson and Paskach were selected, having received 12 or more votes each. Mr. Eckles, Ms. Knaak, and Mr. Johnson were eliminated from further consideration.

Mr. Graba moved to recommend all candidates receiving at least 12 votes on the fourth ballot. **MOTION APPROVED**

The results of the fourth ballot were as follows:

Adiyia	6	Anfang	11
Bomier	10	Semeja	2
Shaw	11	Slade	2
Wruck	10		

There being no candidate receiving the requisite 12 or more votes, no candidate was selected on the fourth ballot. Mr. Semeja and Mr. Slade were eliminated from further consideration.

Buck Humphrey moved to suspend the rules. MOTION APPROVED

Mr. Humphrey moved to select the remaining five candidates.

Ms. Young moved to amend the motion and select the top four candidates. **MOTION FAILED**

The question recurred on the Humphrey motion. Jim Bernstein moved for a roll call vote.

Yeas:	<u>Nays</u> :
Graba	Sudor
Olson	Christianson
Abram	Aitken
Bernstein	Condell
Eklund	Young
Vander Kooi	Amundson
Rasmussen	
Humphrey	
Zavadil	

There being 9 yeas and 6 nays, the Humphrey motion passed. MOTION APPROVED

The council recommends Adiyia, Anfang, Bomier, Shaw, and Wruck.

Mr. Graba announced he will be leaving the council and will be accepting a position on the Hamline Board of Trustees.

Kent Eklund moved to adjourn. MOTION APPROVED

Benjamin Vander Kooi, Jr. Chair