TRUSTEE CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL

MEETING MINUTES Friday, October 21, 2005 1:00 p.m. Room 5, State Office Building

Present: Ben Vander Kooi, Chair Nancy Black Judy Christianson Carl Crimmins Kent Eklund Buck Humphrey Del Jenkins Kelley Koemptgen Ruth Orrick Lisa Peilen Earl Rasmussen Pam Wolf Billie Young

Absent: Joe Aitken Greg Anderson George Cassell Yvonne Condell Brenda Elmer Susan Hankner Jody Olson David Sturrock Don Sudor Chris Wachtler Larry Zavadil

The Trustee Candidate Advisory (TCAC) was called to order by Ben Vander Kooi, TCAC Chair, at 1:05 p.m. in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

Mr. Vander Kooi welcomed everyone and reviewed the agenda. There being several newly appointed council members, introductions were made.

Minutes

Kent Eklund moved to amend the meeting minutes from March 29 - 31, 2004, by striking the actual ballot results; removing the candidate name and vote count. Nancy Black moved to amend Mr. Eklund's amendment by removing only the vote count and leaving the candidate name. Discussion ensued. Mr. Eklund renewed his motion to remove candidate name and vote count. Seconded. **MOTION PASSED.** Kent moved to approve the minutes from March 29 - 31, 2004, as amended. Seconded. **MOTION PASSED. PASSED.**

Announcements

Mr. Vander Kooi announced the resignation of Muriel Abrams and introduced her stub-term replacement, Pam Wolf.

Mr. Vander Kooi highlighted topics in the MnSCU State of the System speech by Chancellor McCormick.

It was announced that Chad Thuet, TCAC staff, is going to be a father for the second time. He and his wife are expecting a girl any day.

Overview of TCAC

Mr. Vander Kooi reviewed MS 136F.03 describing the purpose, duties, and process of the TCAC. He also outlined the selection criteria for the Board of Trustees and responsibilities of the Trustees.

Election of Council Chair and Vice Chair(s)

Mr. Vander Kooi reviewed the Procedural Rules and Voting Rules. It was decided the Executive Committee, consisting of the Chair, Vice Chair and two at-large members, would be established at the next meeting in January 2006.

Mr. Vander Kooi informed new members that if they would like a mentor, they could be partnered with a senior council member who they could call with questions or talk with to acquire more information about their role on the TCAC.

Mr. Vander Kooi announced that he is not seeking reelection as Chair of the TCAC. The report of the Nominations Subcommittee was submitted. Committee members, Ben Vander Kooi, Judy Christianson and Joe Aitken recommended Kent Eklund for Chair and Billie Young for Vice Chair.

Mr. Vander Kooi opened nominations for the position of Chair. There being no other nominations, Earl Rasmussen moved unanimous ballot. Seconded. **MOTION PASSED.** Mr. Eklund is TCAC Chair.

Mr. Vander Kooi opened nominations for the position of Vice Chair. There being no other nominations, Lisa Peilen moved unanimous ballot. Seconded. **MOTION PASSED.** Ms. Young is TCAC Vice Chair.

Mr. Eklund took over as Chair to continue the meeting.

Council Member Contact Information

Sandy Keene, TCAC staff, reviewed the public and private council member contact lists. The private lists contain confidential information to be used by council members only. The public information can be shared. Council members are not obligated to provide home contact information on the public list, but a work number or work address must be provided. If members want any changes made to the lists, they were instructed to submit their corrections at the end of the meeting.

For the new members, Ms. Keene provided general information to new members on filling out expense sheets and requested that they leave their meeting folders at the end of the meeting.

Report of RCAC Recruitment Cycle from Past Session

Mr. Thuet gave the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) recruitment cycle report on the past session.

MnSCU Board Status and Recruitment Timeline

There are four vacancies on the board that must be filled: two at-large positions, one District 5 position, and one District 6 position. The four members whose terms are expiring included: **Ivan Dusek**, At-large; **Lew Moran**, Congressional District 5; **Robert Hoffman**, Congressional District 1; **Will Antell**, Congressional District 6. Since the board does not have any current representation from District 5 or District 6, expiring members' terms notwithstanding, recruitment will be done for those two districts in addition to two at-large positions. The intentions of the incumbents are not known to us at this time.

The 2005-2006 TCAC schedule was discussed and Mr. Eklund proposed amending the schedule by conducting candidate interviews April 3 - 7, 2006. Discussion ensued. A vote was taken for the following possible candidate interview weeks: March 20 - 24, March 27 - 31, and April 3 - 7. Staff was instructed to conduct a poll with absent members and results would be emailed to all members. Del Jenkins moved approval of the 2005-2006 TCAC Schedule omitting the candidate interview dates. Seconded. **MOTION PASSED.**

TCAC Procedures

Mr. Vander Kooi and Mr. Eklund, chairs of last cycle's subcommittees, briefly described the purpose of each subcommittee. A subcommittee sign up sheet was passed around the room.

Program Planning for Next Meeting

Mr. Eklund requested the Nominations Committee establish nominations for the Executive Committee to be voted on at the meeting in January.

Suggestions for guest speakers:

- * Trustee Cheryl Dickson
- * Trustee Ann Curme Shaw
- * Chair Bob Hoffman
- * Trustee Tom Renier, former RCAC chair
- Mr. Eklund will contact the Chair of the Board to check on their availability.
- * Chancellor McCormick (give him choice of January 6 or March 3)
- * John Berns, Governor's Office (January 6)

Mr. Eklund will call new members to follow up on assigning mentors, if they would like that assistance.

Mr. Rasmussen moved to adjourn. Seconded. MOTION PASSED.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 2:35 p.m. and subcommittees met briefly.

Kent Eklund, Chair